PLACES VISITED

Placentia area

Capitale Saint John and the surroundings

Bonavista Cape and Trinity

Gros Morne National Park

 

We have always had as a project to visit Newfoundland, perhaps because of our ancestors who lived between Cancale and

Saint Servan sur mer, now Saint Malo, since the seventeenth century and who were fishermen in Newfoundland.

 

.

 Joseph VOSLUISANT ( 1872-1950 ) the last Newfoundland fisherman

 

To get to Newfoundland, we took a ferry Monday in Sydney, Nova Scotia to arrive 14 hours

later in Placentia. We chose a Monday because it is the only day of the week when the crossing takes place during the day.

We have saved the price of a cab and traveled on the open deck because the crossing took place under sunny skies.

GOOD MEMORIES!

We booked our hotel room because the boat did not arrive before 23 hours.

Under Louis XIV Placentia was called Plaisance and was the capital of the French colony of Newfoundland

from 1662 to 1713, date of signing of the Treaty of Utrecht which ended the French domination in this region.

 

 

 

Placentia was chosen for its location. The harbor is

 surrounded by hills that sheltered guns for protection.

 

 

 

From Placentia, we went to Cape St. Mary to discover a colony of gannets.

 

 

The lighthouse at Cape St. Mary to the entrance

of the gannets reserve

 

 

The sheep protect themselves from the winds of Newfoundland

 

 

 

 

This colony of gannets in this spectacular setting

is one of the largest in North America

Top

RETURN

 

From Cape Saint Mary, we crossed the Avalon Peninsula to visit Ferryland, Cape Spears, Signal Hill

before staying at St. John, the capital of Newfoundland

 

 

 

Ferryland, fishing village, founded in 1621 was

one of the earliest English colonies in North America

 

 

 

 

 

Cape Spear is located 30 km south of Saint John

 

The Queen's Battery

 

Cabot Tower

 

 

Signal Hill is a huge rock that guards the entrance of the harbor of the port of Saint John with the Queen's Battery.

Signal Hill is known by the experiments conducted by Guglielmo Marconi in the discovery of

wireless telephony. Cabot Tower was built in 1897 to celebrate the 400th anniversary of

the discovery of Newfoundland by the famous navigator John Cabot. The day we visited, the wind

was so violent that we had a lot of trouble to penetrate inside the tower.

From Signal Hill, we discover a superb panorama of the capital St. John.

 

 

Saint John, the capital of Newfoundland is one of the oldest

cities in North America. Its population is greater

to 100,000 inhabitants. Because of the many one way streets,

we struggled to find our way in this city.

Accommodation capacity is limited and we

struggled to accommodate us.

Top

RETURN

 

 

From Saint John, we went to Cape Bonavista where the navigator John Cabot landed in 1497.

 

 

 

 

 

then we traveled to the charming village of Trinity, where we stayed at the Village Inn.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Trinity was well known in the seventeenth century when it was the seat of the first Naval Court of Canada.

We filmed these wooden houses typical of the northern landscape.

We enjoyed our night at the Village Inn where Dr. Beamish knows entertain his

guests by playing piano and accordion. It organizes trips to the whale where his enthusiasm

made us forget the lack of whales that day.

 

Top

RETURN

 

 

 

From Blue Hill Pond Lockout, 7 km from the northern

entrance of the park, you find this panorama across

the Terra Nova Park.

 

From Terra Nova Park, we headed to Gander where we slept. Then we took Road No. 1

for the Grand Morne Park. We saw a moose killed on the low side but unfortunately

we have not had a chance to see other while Newfoundland has the highest density

of moose in Canada.

 

 

We spent 3 nights in Rocky Harbour.

This small town serves as a reception center and

 accommodation to park visitors.

 

 

 

 

 

In the northern part of the park, the boat excursion's

Lake Western Brook Pond can penetrate into the ice groove

of 200 meters deep and observe the granite cliffs

that make this place like a Norwegian fjord.

 But here, the water is fresh and the lake does not

continues to sea: this is not a fjord.

 

 

The three brothers Munch have made Broome point their Port

fishing from 1941 to 1975, when they sold their property to

the park.

 

Leaving Rocky Harbour, we visited the southern part of the park. The road runs along one arm of

"good Bay", a deep fjord surrounded by the Long Range Mountains, whose highest point is

Gros Morne, 806 meters high. We then crossed the "Tablelands" to reach

Trout River, the southern end of the park.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The day of our visit, a Russian scientist boat anchored in the fjord. From the shore

we observed whales.

 

 

 

 

After the fjord "Good Bay" arise suddenly Tablelands whose desert appearance

contrast with the lush vegetation of the rest of the park. These mountains were formed by

the tectonic plates. They offer geologists a testament to the drift

continents and contributed to the award of the UNESCO World Heritage in 1987

 

 

 

 

The small fishing village of trout river with its lake

is at the end of the southern part of the park

 

Top

RETURN

 

 

On leaving Trout River, we spent the night in Corner Brook, the second city of Newfoundland.

The next day we visited the peninsula of French ancestry, Port au Port before to go

to Port aux Basques to take the ferry to rejoin Nova Scotia.

 

 

 

 

 

 

France had kept fishing rights along the west coast of Newfoundland and in the 19th century

the French, especially from Saint-Malo settled in the year in the peninsula, which was forbidden.

They were the "paperless" of this period. The Entente Cordiale of 1904 helped to integrate these people in Newfoundland.

 

 

 

We left Port aux Basques in the fog,

a common phenomenon here with the wind.

 

 

 

Top

 

 

RETURN